restart

Posted on Updated on

I didn’t write a post the New Years everything changed. I didn’t write about my trip to the Dominican Republic, which proved to be life-altering, and not in the cliche, unmeasurable way. I didn’t write when I started a new career and pushed journalism aside to a part-time role.

But I am writing today: the day before I am about to work my last day as a reporter.

It’s been about two years since my last post on my old blog. For all you know, the past two years didn’t even happen. My old blog has slunk silently into oblivion. I would have been OK with it. You probably would have too.

I thought about picking it up from time to time, then got caught up in other things. Busyness is really just a cop out though, because you make time for your priorities. I guess this wasn’t just one of them. Then too much time passed for me to resuscitate it. I worried it would become a false start even if I could.

If I began again, I wanted it to be different. It had turned into mundane accounts of monthly milestones in my life. Really, the only people who care about that is family members and a few close friends, who I talk to regularly anyway. In short, I was boring myself.

I decided I had to start new, with a new format and new template and new colors. Starting fresh, like I did when I moved.

I still don’t know how I want it to be different, or what it will be. But I figured that now that I am not going to be writing for a living, I better keep it up somehow. I wonder if writing is a skill that can grow dull if unused, or if it’s more like bicycle riding.

Maybe now that I’m not writing for a living I will be more inclined to write for fun. We’ll see.

Either way, I’m back for now, restarting fresh.

One thought on “restart

    Laura Wyman said:
    June 25, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    Keep up that writing. It is a gift!

Leave a Reply

